May 4, 2010

  • Sometimes you get what you pray for.

    Pasquale e Joe con Azul by Joe Sirico
    Since we knew we would be coming to Italy as missionaries we’ve been praying for hearts here to be softened to hear the gospel. One of our college students in our Bible study asked about riding horses as a group, so I went to check it out. I found an equestrian center very close to our house. I went to check it out and met the owner, Mario (so we’ll call him) who gave me a run down on how things worked. I mentioned that I had played polo and trained horses for years and worked with a particular type of training method called Parelli. To my surprise he knew of the method and when I asked if I could have an opportunity to train one of his horses he jumped at the chance.
    I began working with one of his young horses and Mario asked if he could watch and learn as I trained. I happily agreed. So, for the past three weeks Mario and I have spent a fair bit of time together. He has been a good student and besides asking me questions about my horse training techniques he has shown a definite interest in what I do for a “living. Through several good conversations Mario now understands my point of view of salvation through Jesus Christ and he gave me his full endorsement today. One day he began asking me more about what I believe while we were standing at the barn with one of his clients and his daughter. The group discussion allowed me to share the four spiritual laws with them. Amazingly, all three of them seemed delighted to hear all of this and they had no problem believing it to be truth. We agreed that the truth was found in the Bible and that the Bible is all about Jesus Christ and therefore the truth (la verita’) is Jesus. We also agreed that whether it be a Catholic Church or a protestant church, we all have the same Bible and that if we rely on God’s Word we are all brothers and sisters in Jesus Christ.
    They were encouraged to know that there are believers in the U.S. who give their hard earned money to support missionaries who share the gospel to reach people they don’t even know. I’m telling you, all those believers who give to missionaries are a witness across the many miles. God can use it all to change hearts in ways we can’t even fathom.
    Through the course of this horse training scenario Mary and I have had the opportunity to meet Mario’s wife, daughter, daughter’s boyfriend, sister, sister-in-law, brother-in-law and nephew. And we have been to Mario’s house for lunch last Sunday. It’s only the beginning of the amazing answers to prayers. These people truly hunger for the truth and we are feeling blessed to be able to offer the wonderful gift of the gospel to them.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *